Climbing with shadows

A quick trip to town early this morning to pick up some more jam jars!  No jam-making today, taking a break and will be back at it tomorrow.  It's so hot, and I wanted to get to town before it got even hotter.  I'm still looking for black and white shots for the weekly challenge and quite liked the shadows climbing up these stairs.
I picked up a young woman hitchhiking to work.  Chatty, she was!  She moved here from London, Ontario about 3 weeks ago and is loving it.  Quite a change from her fast-paced life working in high-fashion retail - sold her truck and house and moved here with only 2 bags of belongings!  She's now a caregiver for an elderly man and is loving the pace of life on Salt Spring.  I learned quite a bit about her in the short drive!  We talked of everything from pace of life, to what's important in life, to family situations, to body images that last from childhood into adulthood, to politics, and more.  Great to meet her! 
G's off to Vancouver Island to play golf, and I'm heading out to sit in the shade with my Peter May book and relax for the rest of the day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.