...gold,gold,gold,gold,gold,gold......

Ok, I know it's not a real song lyric.....but it is from the dwarf song in Terry Pratchett's Discworld books.

Wow....what a day.....out early to get the bait for tomorrow's match and then home for breakfast and a feast of Olympics.....and what a feast.....six gold medals and one silver medal!

Andy Triggs Hodge, Pete Reed, Tom James and Andy Gregory in the Mens Coxless four.....Gold

Katherine Copeland and Sophie Hoskins in the ladies sculls....Gold

Mark Hunter and ZacPurchase in the Mens sculls.....Silver

Dani King, Laura Trott and Jo Rowsell in the Ladies team Pursuit...Gold

Jessica Ennis.....Heptathlon Gold

Greg Rutherford....Long Jump Gold

and

Mo Farrah.....10 000 meters Gold

and the boys who won silver cried because they thought they'd let the country down.....I don't think so!

I used to be a really good 400m runner.....Town, County and North East regional champion three years in a row....but I didn't have the dedication to do what all our Olympians did....I discovered women and booze...and I gradually drifted away......but I've always been a sports fan...and I think each and every one of our Olympians deserve all the praise they get....they gave up so much to pursue their dreams...to make us proud of them.

Bring on the rest of the Games....we'll win more medals....and we'll have more people for our children to look up to!

Das vidanya moy padruga.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.