am bioran

By AmBioran

Cape Wrath

After nineteen years of walking this route from Fort William to Cape Wrath, today I finally reached the end. I chose to break it into sections due to time limits but it allowed me to make it more of a high-level route by passing over 10 Corbetts and 2 Munros on the way.

Today I started from a wild camp a mile or so north of the iconic Sandwood Bay just as the sun rose to warm the tent. By 8am I was resting in the sun on the top of Cnoc a Ghiubhais (298m) about 3miles south of the lighthouse. It was a moment to think about my past 6 outings and all the sights I had seen along the way. The view to the north was special with the obvious 'Turning Point' of the Viking ships clear before me (extras).

After crossing the old lighthouse road, I headed up to the trig on Dunan Mor to approach my finish line along the cliffs of the north coast. What a view. I had an hour or so before the first minibus of tourists arrived so enjoyed the solitude to wander amongst the old buildings of the Stevenson lighthouse.

The bus journey along the rutted road was interesting and when it arrived at the ferry to cross the Kyle of Durness, a cloud of midges made sure I didn't forget Cape Wrath.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.