tree 18

“So - are we going at this pace then?”  

Anniemay throws me a look of mock impatience.  I ignore her.    Today is my mid-monthly appointment with a tree and I’m a little apprehensive about the prospect.  The route from carpark to tree is about a half mile, all uphill.  I’m not so much concerned about whether I’ll manage or not - it’s more about the effort causing an arrhythmia.  My heart has been steady - dare I say, ‘normal’ - since saturday morning and I’m starting to get used to the idea.  Although the final of the men’s Keirin in the olympic velodrome last night could have easily resulted in another trip to A&E.  

So I’m taking it steady; this is a big test for me.  Although I can now drive, I choose not to.  During the ablation I had catheters inserted in both groins; the left has healed nicely.   The right is still a bit sore and causes some discomfort when pressure is applied.  Like when braking in the car.

Anniemay has offered to drive me today for which I’m grateful.  The price though is her straining at the leash.  And payback.

“Do you remember when I first had my bike and I was a bit nervous?”  I do indeed recall the time.

“And we went out for a bike ride after work.”  Yes. 
 
“And you were ahead of me.”  I think I know what’s coming. 
 
“Then you stopped and said - ‘so this is what 8 miles an hour feels like’”.  Ouch.  Did I really say that?  I seem to think I did.

“Well this is Karma.” (Snigger, snigger).

I can hear a huffing and puffing behind.  I glance back and two women and a dog in full running gear (not the dog) are bounding up the hill.  This is more humiliating than being constantly reminded by Anniemay that she’s having to go especially slowly for my sake.  So I affect a limp on the assumption that this will explain my slow progress.

We eventually get to the tree.  I made it without stopping and without invoking the Gods of Arrhythmia.  I tell Anniemay I’m really proud of myself.  She gives me a hi-five and says; “and I’m really proud of you as well.  And I’m really proud of myself - I kept ‘down’ with you all the way. Ha ha ha……”  And skips off back to the car pleased with her little joke.


ps; As if to reinforce the point that she got to the tree first, she is just visible in left of frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.