Freedom

I've always loved the physicality of running in the hills, the exertion expended, the reward returned. It's so uncomplicated. There is a blissful sense of freedom, something which I've really missed in recent times. Today I was reminded how precious that feeling is, how it's not altogether deserted me, but how fragile it is too.

I've known Harry here for all his life. He sits right between my two sons in age. They used to hang out together quite a bit as children. He's a remarkable young man, quite the free spirit really, and it was great to talk a little of writing and adventurous travel - of which he's done a lot. He aspires to combine those two interests. Not easy, but I hope he gives it a decent shot. I think he will.

We pushed each other quite hard to the summit of Sharp Haw, experience eventually winning out over youthful vigour! The alcoholic excess of the previous evening and the physical excess of the run combined to extract a price later on. There always seems to be a price to pay! Posting this a week after the event it turned out that I got a little ahead of myself. No regrets though. Thanks A & A. For a while there it was the best I've felt in a very long while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.