DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

FODMAPS

Today's word of the day....more like SOD THAT!!!

So.....I went back to the GP today for the results of my blood tests. Everything is apparently normal, so he's concluded from that that I have IBS.
I've been given some more antispasmodic tablets and he also directed me to a couple of websites for me to look at following a low FODMAP diet.
Having looked at the list, I've no idea what I'm meant to eat; everything I love (even the healthy stuff) is apparently bad for me!

I've been keeping a record of my 'trigger foods' so I already have an idea of foods to avoid, but it's going to be difficult cutting out specific things that I eat in abundance (garlic, tomatoes, stoned fruit etc).

He mentioned about seeing a dietician, but didn't seem that keen to refer me. Luckily, I've already taken matters into my own hands and booked myself in for allergy and intolerance testing at a private clinic, but this isn't until after our holiday.
I feel this is worth the money as it will given me a clear idea of what I need to avoid rather than cutting out everything.


What is a FODMAP? The acronym stands for Fermentable Oligo-, Di-, Mono-saccharides And Polyols. These are a group of short-chain carbohydrates that are poorly absorbed. In people with gastrointestinal symptoms, a diet high in FODMAPs can induce diarrhoea and/or constipation, bloating, wind and abdominal pain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.