Lala's Journal

By Lala

Bolero

Mr L set off for work early, coughing and spluttering but declaring he couldn't let the team down! I too was coughing well, but as it subsided I walked Dog early while I felt fairly good. It was very windy (has been all day) on the sea front and we stopped for a while to sit and enjoy the wind and view. I hadn't anticipated the wind when we moved (I know, how naive of me) but I love it! I took the photo by bending down and holding the phone behind some tiny purple flowers. I'm surprised it came out at all as the gusts were blowing the reeds and flowers in all directions.

As I walked back, I stopped briefly and chatted with two different neighbours. Both male, one of them declared how much he liked the coastal 'breeze' while the other wished that when they had bought their house ten years ago, they had gone further inland. We're all different!

I house worked in every room, because neither of us had had time to do it all week, and also cut the grass. Once Mr L was home, we dragged ourselves out to fill Mr Sainsbury's pockets with our hard earned cash and stock the cupboards.

This evening we both collapsed, coughing into our chairs and turned the TV on. Nothing that inspired us so Mr L said, let's see the Proms then. Last resort! What were the chances of the only time this year putting it on only to hear the presenter say 'and now, Ravel's Bolero'. For anyone still reading this evenings long blip, this was my dads favourite piece of music, the one he requested we play at his funeral. We duly did, and at my sister's and at my mother's. It will be played at mine, and at my brothers. I can now listen to it with crumpling as long as I am warned it is coming! So, this evening I sat and enjoyed, just as Dad had so many times before.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.