Safety worries?

Over 15 years I have been well satisfied with my Toyota  . . . in fact this is the third I have driven over that time.
But I was a trifle alarmed by the vehicle recall notice I received the other day through the Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency warning of a safety issue.
Not so much with the notice of a safety recall,; I have received these before and always had the work recommended carried out quickly and efficiently, and of course at no cost to me.
What was astounding about this one is the sheer scale of the perceived problem affecting the passenger side airbag inflator. Not only might the one fitted to my car not work properly in an accident, but up to 42 million cars worldwide,  manufactured by 24 different car companies might be affected.
Toyota says it is working extremely hard with suppliers to obtain the required parts as soon as it can.

Am I being pessimistic in fearing that I will not expect a call anytime soon to have the perceived problem put right?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.