Grapevine

By Babrecila

Darwin, Three Forms by Philip King

I am still on the Art Trail, and I really like this colourful sculpture which I found situated in Christ's College, Cambridge. I copied the description from the information plaque, and am still trying to get my head round it !
DARWIN- Erected 2012.
The oval is the concept of evolution, the triangle the young Darwin, the open square the world at large. These forms find a balance between openness and enclosure. This work has been commissioned by the Yusuf and Farida Hamiad Foundation. Both Dr Yusuf and Professor Philip King, matriculated at Christ's College in 1954.
Saying all that- I find it a fine, colourful piece of work, at about 6ft tall, and I understand the oval being evolution. At least he didn't call Darwin a Square. Oh dear, I've shown my true colours !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.