Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

Perugia

The Piazza IV Novembre is the location for three of the city's most important monuments. The Fontana Maggiore, in the foreground, dates from 1275-78 and includes decoration by Nicola Pisano. Behind it stands the beautiful Italian Gothic Palazzo dei Priori (town hall) which was built between 1293 and 1443, and now houses the Galleria Nazionale dell'Umbria. Behind me stands the wonderful Duomo, whose unpreposessing exterior conceals a magically decorated interior. Unfortunately the policing of the No Photography rule only enabled me to grab a quick shot, which didn't really come out. Why they forbid photography defeats me.

Roadworks and road closures prevented our satnav from taking us to a couple of Perugia's other monuments, but I can now claim to have driven in an Italian city in rush hour. Which is why I am now enjoying a large refreshment back at the ranch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.