Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Sophie Sporting a New Hair-Do

I have been grooming our Yorkshire Terriers since they were puppies and have tried to give them a trim once a month to keep the time down to a minimum.  This go around, I waited about three weeks too long and had to deal with cutting out knots and globs of pine sap from their paws.  

As you can imagine, the dogs (almost 2 years) do not like to sit long nor do they like their paws or legs touched (with the clippers).  In order to keep our patience in check, I would swap Sophie and Ella out every 15 minutes so that I could get them both done in the same day. 

The total time to get them both groomed properly was close to three hours!  But I think they both look a lot better now and are still pretty darned cute.

BTW  - a lady that grooms dogs wanted to know what the name of the cut was as she had never seen a Yorkie look like this.  I asked if she liked the cut and when she said yes (I think she was telling the truth),  I told her it was the "Matt cut".  She asked me how I came up with this style and I told her that I didn't like the traditional Yorkie haircuts and experimented until I came up with this style.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.