not the one in Ohio

I mention this because, each time I google ‘Toledo’ I’m invite to look at business opportunities in a town of that name in Ohio.  Although the search engine has now twigged that I’m looking for the one in Spain.

We’d planned a holiday in New York and New York State in September, but cancelled just before the debiting of the credit card, because of my pesky heart.  We were also planning on visiting Mollymay next Spring, but again have put that on hold, for the same reason.  

My next review at Oxford will be in November/December and if I have to have another ablation, that will most likely be in the Spring.  We can’t take any chances with losing money from cancelled air fares - travel insurance won’t cover it.  But we’re feeling confident about the summer.  So I spent most of today pouring over a map of Spain with a highlighter and then searching the internet.

I’ve wanted to go to Toledo (not the one in Ohio) since I was 21.  I saw a painting by El Greco in the National Gallery of Scotland and I’ve been hooked on the artist ever since.  No idea why.  

Planning a trip takes an excel spreadsheet and a fair bit of ingenuity because the El Greco museum/gallery in Toledo is closed on mondays.  And there are only two ferries a week from Portsmouth to Santander.  We’re planning to drive, by the way, because having seen technophobe’s wonderful blips of the Picos de Europa, we fancy a bit of mountain air on the way back.  

Other people must also be confident about next summer because hotels in Toledo are already starting to get booked up.  So - having come up with a plan and had it signed off by Anniemay - I check the small print and satisfy myself about cancellation policies - and then get the credit card out.  Making sure it’s not the one in Ohio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.