the first cut is the deepest ….

I really don’t like to see Anniemay having to do jobs like this just because I can’t.  That hedge trimmer weighs a ton and is very dangerous with the trailing flex.  So I’m going to buy her a lightweight battery-operated one for Christmas.

Have now booked all our accommodation for Spain.  I’ve just finished reading Monsignor Quixote by Graham Green which is partly responsible for the resurgence of my interest in central Spain.

We’ll stay in Paradores in Segovia, Toledo and Salamanca; we’ve stayed in these state-run hotels in Spain before because they offer a discount for those they describe as in their ‘Golden Years’.  This means anyone over the age of 55.  

I rather like being what they call a jubilados (retiree) in my golden years.  They even offer the discount to “your travelling companion, even though they may be younger than 55, as long as they share the same room”. 

The mind boggles ….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.