Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Holidays!

No doubt where we are - Jersey!

Dropped Archie off at 7am - he dashed into the house without a backward look at us. Which is a good sign of course.

The shambles that is security at Edinburgh Airport exceeded expectations. I must have looked very shifty, because I had the works. As I came to the X-ray thingie with my walking stick the man stopped me and asked if it was my walking stick.

'Well, no. It belongs to the NHS'.

I was made to walk through with a wooden walking stick. But I still beeped. 'It's my hip'... 'Probably, but come over here". I had to stand in a big contraption, legs apart, arms above my head, while the X-ray machine looked through my clothes. Still not content, I was then taken aside to a seat and asked to remove my shoes, given a pat down search, only then did they give up and allow me to proceed.

We arrived in Jersey about 11.30, and were whisked off by our pals. We haven't been here for a few years, but it really was a shock to be told it was 16 years since we'd been there!

They have done so much on the house and garden in that time, not surprisingly. And they both have the most impressive collections - Anne collects gorgeous Art Deco inspired pottery, Bob has an amazing collection of Dinky toys, especially tractors, from his youth, and they both collect original art works. We were very jealous.

After lunch we had a walk round the area, and I was delighted to meet these gorgeous cows, although no matter what I did, they wouldn't look at me, just continued munching, which is a lovely country noise.

Wonder how the wee fella is going... Not missing him at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.