From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Brig o' Doon - Alloway

When my parents first moved to Ayr in December 2000, I came here with them then. It was a few years before I realised it was only three and a half miles from the house and a beautiful treelined walk on a nice day.

Dad was a typical golfer and would walk for miles all day around a golf course but would get the car out to get a newspaper from the corner shop. I have walked up here every other day this past fortnight as it's so lovely and the coffee shop at the back of the hotel opposite the Burns Monument does a wonderful lemon meringue. Other things too of course, but I'm anyone's for a lemon meringue! Yum!

I thought I'd spare you great chunks from Burns' Brigs of Ayr or Tam o' Shanter as tomorrow is another day.

I'm just being selfish this time and putting one of my favourite tracks which I feel is appropriate after a couple of subdued days.

Joe Bonamassa - Happier Times

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.