The Need For Speed

I took Jessica home to dad this morning - took a while longer than expected as traffic was quite heavy. She was very pleased to be back and was soon playing with her toys again.

After lunch I took the dogs out for a walk and came across the annual 'Soapbox Derby' which is run down Windmill Hill in Bramham.I watched a few vehicles coming down - they can get up to about 40 mph. I loved this 'tandem' box, sadly not a brilliant photo, but you can see the course up the hill. One box came a cropper at the chicane and finished up doing a barrel roll - over about 3 times. Fortunately he had a roll bar and was not hurt, but some boxes are not much more than a seat strapped to 4 wheels with no protection, so I dread to think what might happen if they crashed.

Included an extra that probably didn't win the speed prize but seemed to be the best 'dressed'.

I have nodded off a few times this afternoon after the exertions of baby and dog sitting over the last few days. Dog goes home Monday and granddaughter is back here again....who said retirement was easy?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.