done!

It's done. The Great North Sob 2016 is officially over. I didn't get the time I'd trained for and learnt a few lessons for next time (including not getting covered in an entire bottle of lucozade at 8 miles, particularly sad as I despise the stuff and it wasn't mine - the culprit was hugely apologetic)!

But there's far more positive stuff to share with you - the awesome atmosphere, the joy of ignoring all the usual technology so you can soak up said atmosphere and enjoy the day, the people of the North East practically throwing ice pops, orange slices and jelly babies at all the runners, nutters stood on top of bus shelters with hose pipes cooling all of us down, the inspiring stuff written on the back of people's tops, the startled, emotional and then delighted expression on someone's face when I ran past and said "God bless your husband John and well done for running in his memory you gutsy woman" (I'd read it on her back), the rugby team running under the slogan "one in, all in" with their teammate who is now in a wheelchair - they sheltered him from being bashed by positioning themselves all round him, running at the exact speed of his wheelchair, the red arrows flying over as we set off (inducing a small sob), the red arrows flying past as I finished (inducing huge sobs) and best, best, best of all.... Antony and the children 800m from the finish line, cheering like lunatics.

And then the elation at finishing and the vague concern that I might be sick right there on camera. There were so many ill people at the end of the course (and throughout to be fair) as it was far hotter than expected so I'd have been in great company. But, thank God, I scoffed some salty goodness and recovered swiftly. 4 weeks until the next one.... someone pour me a glass of wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.