Tea Party

My sister left early this morning - I had such a good week with her. I find it most odd that I seem to get on so well with her now - and not once did she irritate me and everyone irritates me after 3 days and she stayed a week! We share the same family  history and interests so maybe that's it - and maybe I'm just a less intolerant person now that I have retired and the stress of work has left me. Maybe I appreciate the people in my life more. Whatever the reason it was a good week.
As it was a fine morning with the mist rising up the valley I grabbed my camera and went down the village - I got captivated by the cobwebs, but didn't feel totally pleased with my efforts but am sure I will have plenty of opportunity to practise now Autumn is here! As the Film peoples buses were still on the green I took the opportunity to take a closer look - couldn't believe the bus doors were wide open! I should have had a good look inside but I didn't -  a cup of coffee was pulling me home!
In the afternoon I went up to Friends Tea Party she was holding for her female friends, partners were not invited! Men change the dynamics and I think she wanted a nurturing, relaxed atmosphere. Everyone brought a cake and oh my there are some good bakers amongst her friends! There were all the friends who have been supporting her these last 2 years, and those who for whatever reason have not seen her unless she has been at events in the village. I did wonder how emotional it would be for her and everyone, but it was just a happy, relaxed, fun afternoon. She had a Memory Book going round where everyone was invited to write when and how they first met her and any anecdote they wanted to share - she told people no salacious information as the book was for her daughters - many people found it hard to write and said they would think about it and write in it on another occasion. It did start a whole conversation about how we all knew each other. I met her and Vegan Jo at the same party being held by a neighbour up the road who I knew from walking my dog - for 4 years all I spoke to in the village were people I met dog walking! After this party my friendship circle just grew. 
We all left when friend began to grow tired - Vegan Jo and party Girl came back to mine for coffee, as did the Dressmaker to look at the fabric I had bought several years ago to make winter curtains for my front room. We both kept forgetting about the fact I had asked her to make them for me - in my naivety/ optimism  I thought  i woiuld make them, but soon realised I would make a ham fisted job of it! I showed her my attic and all my clothes - which she called my "collection" and was quite amazed at! I told her many would be coming to her to sell as I had either grown out of them or they were work clothes no longer required or styles that no longer suited my age! 
After a couple of hours we dispersed and I went to put the chickens to bed - I returned with a nasty headache and fell asleep till 4am on the kitchen sofa! It was rather a long and beneath the surface, an emotional day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.