Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Giftlet

Another gay hilltop palace and another dinner invitation, but not so crazy this time. We arrived as scheduled and were told that nobody could be bothered to cook so were were being taken out to dine at Fat Yanni's. Not our favourite establishment but a change of scenery nevertheless. Fat Yanni's empire has expanded over the years and now includes a taverna as well as the original snack-bar and tourist shop, affectionately known locally as Fat Yanni's World of Crap. It is not unusual at this stage in the season to be given a gift from Fat Yanni which is always an item that just didn't seem to sell as well as he had hoped. This year it is a bread basket with the inscription “ Someone who loves me very much went to Skopelos and brought me this giftlet” and allegedly comes from Fat Yanni's two year-old granddaughter who had only just met us moments before.

I don't like to actually throw these things away but sometimes their tackiness is overwhelming. What to do? I could sort-of put it down in the cottage where there is no bread-bin but it would definitely need to be adapted to make it less hideous. Then I remembered Peggie's blouse which just so happens to be in colours that suit the cottage quite well.

Peggie gave me the blouse when she realised that I could carry off brightly coloured clothing better than she could. However, the cut of the blouse better suited somebody short and wide and I am a bit more willowy. I dismantled it and the separate pieces have lain in wait in my sewing box these last ten years. I wondered if the parts were large enough to cover the horrid basket. Yes they were!

In the event I dismantled the bread basket entirely and remade it out of Peggie's blouse plus some random ribbons. 

The Canon stepped into the breach today because the Sony has done that thing again, but at least this time I had the opportunity to copy down the screen message when I tried recharging;
“This AC adaptor does not support USB power supply
To shoot / playback, disconnect the USB cable
To charge, turn the device power OFF”

Easier said than done if it won't turn off even by removing the battery!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.