inthepresent

By today10

4 doorways

We were off the grid for a few days at Chaco Canyon.  I knew it was an amazing array of Chacoan cultural remains, but had I known just how amazing it was, it would have been on my bucket list.  I guess I can count it as a bucket list check in retro.  This photo is from the interior of Pueblo Bonito, the largest and best known great house in Chaco Canyon.  It was built between 850 and 1150 AD.  There is lots of information online about the park, and I'm adding just a couple of photos in the extras.  Pulling our camper down the rutted and washboarded roads and taking a wrong turn that took us miles out of our way down another wildly unmaintained road in Navajo Nation land is another story for another backblip!   Relationships can reveal major fault lines during such experiences, but we did pretty well!  Ha!  At least we both didn't melt down at the same moment. The lesson learned is to be very sure before you make a turn because on many roads there is no turning around with a camper.  You just have to keep on going. As my grandmother would say "The Looooord"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.