AnnieBScotland

By AnnieBScotland

Miss Wilmott's Ghost

had to find time today to visit my neighbour Margaret, to retrieve 2 big ikea bags (she gets my grass cuttings) and spend some time with her over a cuppa. Margaret is 90, a lifelong gardener and horticulturalist with a garden to die for. I took the camera knowing I would get a good blip or ten and just beside her path is this amazing plant. Eryngium giganteum, or Sea Holly, or as Margaret calls it 'Miss Wilmott's Ghost'. Margaret gets so frustrated when she can't remember the latin names for her plants - I personally think she can be forgiven this at 90 - but ususally manages to get the common name first.

The plant was covered in bees, and I got lots of good shots, and was going to crop this in to show off the two bees, then I thought it was a great picture just as it is. so here it is - Miss Wilmott's Ghost, with a pair of bees for good measure!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.