Goodbye Dear Friend.

We had Mr W's best friends Funeral today in Ringmer. 

Mervyn died in his sleep, the night after being discharged from hospital after having a stent put in following a heart attack. No one apart from his wife knew he had the heart attack so the news of his sudden death came as a dreadful shock and Mr W has been really struggling to come to terms with it.

They were the closest of childhood friends and by all accounts got up to all sorts of mischief together and Mr W is Mervyns sons' God parent.

Mervyn had a burial which was so very sad but nicer I think than a Cremation but it was hard to see Mr W so upset, knowing there was nothing I could do for him. I did give him a little nudge to go and throw some mud onto Mervyns coffin, especially as he was mentioned in the eulogy.

The tricky bit for me was knowing there were 2 of his ex's there but compared to what he had to deal with, thats nothing!

On our way home, we stopped in a lovely little pub called the Peacock in Piltdown where we had one of our very first dates. Poor Mr W was still struggling to control his grief and cried into his burger but seemed better after having something to eat.

Then when I got home, I had a Facebook request from Mervyns son and we joked that must make me his Wicked Step God Mother. Im happy with that! 

xXx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.