Prickly

Saw this little bundle of loveliness on the way up for coffee this evening.  I hope that he wandered off into the undergrowth rather than doing something daft like trying to cross the road.

On reflection, the second full week of work has brought a number of challenges but has been productive.  I feel like I am getting somewhere close to normal in work terms.  My last 90 minutes of the day at work took every last ounce of patience, as I found myself in the company of a very challenging young person who was pretty determined to try to provoke me.  I think they wanted me to blow so that they would have the 'justification' of shouting at me.  I wasn't going to give them that opportunity.  Also love that CCTV will have picked it all up AND will have caught the moment they fell off their own chair because they had misjudged how far they could swing back on it.  I didn't laugh (and that took a lot of self control).

There was one moment where I was very glad that neither of the two students could see my reaction at that time.  The student who was trying to push my buttons asked where a male colleague had gone (he left at the end of term). Just as I was about to remind about the rule about silence,   the other student said, in all seriousness "He's gone on maternity leave, innit".  That kept me going for the next half hour!

Some other challenges, but all resolved and now I am getting close to being ready for bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.