DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

Setting sun

As the sun sets on this holiday, our minds are set on booking the next one!

We had a lovely night last night, a few beers at a bar overlooking the sea, then a fab meal which cost virtually nothing! I had sweet potato fries, chicken wings and a T-bone steak for just over £7!

Today has been the worst part of the holiday; waiting to come home (which neither of us wanted to do). We gave the hire car back last night, so had to get a taxi today to Settlers Park, which was a local nature reserve. We had a walk around there, then walked down to Donkin Reserve to see the pyramid and lighthouse.
I decided it would be a good idea to climb to the top of the lighthouse; I think it was designed for midgets as it was a hell of a squeeze for me, let alone Mr A!
The steps up were really narrow with little hatch openings at each level which we had to squeeze ourselves and bags through.
At the top, it was a fantastic view, but the wind was howling so we didn't stand there for long. I didn't even dare risk a selfie outside as I was worried my phone might blow away.
It was so windy in fact, that we saw the local military (fight to) lower the flag and take it away for safe keeping.
Another taxi took us back to our hotel and we had a final look round the Boardwalk shopping complex before collecting our luggage from the hotel ready for our driver to collect us.

In total, we've driven 1307 miles over the 2 weeks we've been here. We've met some lovely people and made new friends who we will definitely keep in touch with.

Although we've always said its a big old world so why see the same places twice, South Africa has really captured our hearts. We could easily do the whole trip again next year and see completely different things (which is partly why we are tempted). We'd also like to venture further north, to Durban and possibly Swaziland.

So, my final blip from this beautiful country is of the sun setting over Port Elizabeth.
I hope you've all enjoyed the holiday as much as we did; I'll start catching up with your journals and comments as soon as I can :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.