Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

The Cool of the Evening

The cool of the evening is not exactly the truth . . . the heat had not subsided when we decided to step outside after our evening meal and take a dip in the pool. It is now almost 10:00 p.m. and the temperature outside is 81 degrees -- ugh!

But a dip in the pool was a definite treat and so was this capture from the camera, even though it is slightly fuzzy. It captures the moment and somewhat of what we were experiencing and enjoying. We were also watching the three pooches in the almost darkness chase crickets; their eyes are certainly so much better than ours.

We've spent this day "cleaning," mostly getting rid of clutter. We made a small dent in the accumulated collection of stuff we have. I used my shredder throughout the day and filled a waste basket numerous times. It is difficult to let go of "stuff." We're sorting through old photos, old recordings, and old paperwork.

Yesterday was the anniversary of living in this home for 18 years. We moved here from a home that we had lived in for 28 years and that home was a mile and a half away, so we simply brought much of our stuff with us, which made it a fairly easy move, but made the accumulation of "stuff" no less than it had been.

So at the moment my house is feeling really clean (I used the dust cloth a lot today), less cluttered, and I'm feeling refreshed, and after sorting through some of my school stuff, I could almost say that I'm ready to go back to school, but that would be stretching it. I really do like my job, but I really, really like time off. So I'll wait till Friday, August 24 to step back onto the campus.

We're hoping to take a few more days of vacation, probably beginning Sunday afternoon when the weekend crowds are headed for home. We have no definite plans . . . we love spontaneous . . . but anywhere on the coast will be just fine.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun, and the cricket chasers: Mitzi, Max, & Chloe), aka Carol



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.