2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

Legend

My friend Karl arrived in London today to enjoy this amazing atmosphere so I took him to the Olympic Park before my shift.

The shift itself was the quietest I have worked with only 5 visitors to Newham.

I've been in a reflective mood today and have written such a lot in my diary about what this experience has done for me personally. They never mentioned this when they spoke about legacy.....

I suppose it was right to keep it quiet that our accreditation gets us into the seating areas of the stadium. It would have been a free for all.

But I managed to find a spot right at the back not far from the finish line. And I got chatting to a lovely lady who herself is an athletics volunteer in the South. So good was her company that when a seat did become available I didn't move from my bum-numbing ledge :)

I captured this on my way to the stadium: I quite like the lighting. But it's another Blipfest tonight.
In the stadium I got a great view and great photos of medal ceremonies, and the stadium
The view looked across and down onto the action. Binoculars would have been handy to capture some of the details but no matter.
More history tonight when Usain Bolt became the first man to defend the 100 and 200 m titles. On his lap of honour he took a camera from someone in the crowd and took photos :)
Other photos I might have used are of Usain Bolt coming down the steps after all his media interviews with medal around his neck, or the very nice etched relay baton I received for completing my shifts at Newham (I took a photo of it on a station platform at 23.55 just in case I wanted to use it!)

More friends arriving Friday. It's going to be quite a weekend.
The greatest legacy of these Games is my health.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.