CharlottesWorldWideWeb

By CharlotteJ

I’m honoured!

My mum decided about two months that my dad’s briefcase was for the tip, it’s been in my car since then.  When it came to it I couldn’t throw it out!!  This black case has been kicking around the bottom of the family home stairs since I could remember.  Its battered, its dusty, its worn but it still has two rubbers (erasers for those who do modern terms) and a very sharp pencil within the case, waiting for a useful purpose, to be something, to be needed and not forgotten.   This case went to work with my dad every day and travelled the world with him.  Admittedly, he did have a few cases but this one was his last.  I’ve decided to restore it and it will now become my work briefcase.  I do have a modern bag but I figure I need something more sturdy to carry my papers.
 

I told dad today what I planned for his briefcase and he said ‘I’m honoured’ and ‘look after it’.  I had a few tears…..he spoke well today, so very well.  He remembered things and the trips he went on…he remembered me…..he said my name….. all this because I said I was going to use his briefcase….. and then in a flash my well educated clever dad went back to being a vulnerable old man.  Dementia….I have a lot to discover about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.