The Pumpkin Man and the Pie Lady

Dear Diary,

Mary and I visited Cornish, a nearby town, to see the master pumpkin carver at work.  This is a 350 pound pumpkin that he is working on.  Small by fair standards.  The record weight for a pumpkin is around 2,700 pounds.  This will be illuminated at night to celebrate the Cornish Apple Festival this weekend.  Always a fun event and I'm glad the weather will be good albeit a tad chilly.  34F this morning!

It is also Dotty's memorial service this morning which I hope will not be too sad.  They want to celebrate her long and productive life.  Many of the photographs I've done of her over the years will be on display.  Dotty was known in town as the Pie Lady.  She made the best and the flakiest crust I've ever eaten.  She tried to teach me how to do it years ago but I just didn't have her light touch with the dough.  She could have made a lot of pumpkin pies with this one!

I will have only happy and joyful thoughts of her today.  As she told me, she had had a wonderful and long life.  I will cherish the memories of her and always hold her close to me in the years ahead.  Those we have loved will never be far away from us if we chose to keep them safely tucked away in our hearts and Dotty will always be in my heart.  I hope I’ve learned a lot from her especially her way of looking at life.  Family first and make the best of things you are dealt.  Just do your best and everything will work out in the end.  And most of all, laugh loud and hard…it is the very best medicine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.