DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

Milking it

Following on from my consultation on Wednesday, I've been sticking to the diet to the letter.
The last couple of days have been hard, but only because I needed to go shopping for supplies.

I've been impressed with the range of products I've been able to get (after carefully reading labels) and have managed to plan meals for the week ahead that aren't too bad for Mr A either. He can still have pasta; I've got my veg spiraliser so can have carrot and courgetti spaghetti!

The only thing I'm struggling with so far is milk. I have to avoid ALL dairy, so even the lactofree milk is out as it still contains milk proteins.

Lesley at work recommended the Koko milk, but it's a bit too coconutty for me in coffee; delicious on my cereal this morning though.
I got some soya milk from Aldi yesterday but that curdled as soon as I brewed up!

Luckily, I spied a lady buying soya milk in Tesco today, so I asked her what she would recommend. She swears by the Alpro soya milk but said the trick is to add the milk first and make sure the water isn't boiling hot, but that she'd never had a problem with the Alpro curdling. As a plan b, I also got some almond milk as I had this a couple of times in South Africa and it was ok.

The best thing of all, is that I've not taken any medication since Wednesday night and so far, I've had no ill effects :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.