The Rowan Tree

This was another day of weather with a new front threatening rain through the day and into the night. After a trip into Tobermory to get a day ticket for the Bellart at Dervaig I went and fished around Loch Tor again with the water from its incoming streams rising. I even caught a couple of small brown trout.

At one point I over confidently stepped across a burn. As I pushed off from the bank my foot went through it and suddenly I was flung forward and very briefly had the water lapping onto my chest. With all my wet weather gear on the stream made little inroad into my inner dryness and relieved that I was not visible from the birders' hide on the other side of the loch, I recovered my verticality and dignity. Such were the old instincts that I lifted the tip of my rod and flung it forward as I fell and fishing continued.

The fish were delicious baked and we were treated to this sunset from our front window. That's the goldfinches' rowan tree in the corner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.