Faces In The Neighborhood

It's embarassing to realize how long I've been slowly puttering away at the outside of this house, but today's particular putterings were worth blipping, at least.

These ornamental tin details greet those who enter either of the twin Victorian houses, and fortunately the owner of the left side gave his OK for me to do the triangle in all one scheme. But these are the house colors, which (to me) are not all of what I'd want on these faces and veggies.

For the longest time I thought that those were flowers in the upper part, but they're gryffin or dragon heads, toungues lashing out.I'll be lobbying for a lighter green for the ferns that I've left in yellow for the time being, and for all three faces, gold leaf (well, a copperish paint that passes for gold).

It's nice to bring a long-term project over a threshold, to where it no longer looks like an annoying half-done thing and starts back toward its old beauty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.