Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

I like the fact that the Sony has some settings I can adjust while still in Program Auto, such as the exposure compensation or the centre of focus. What annoys me is my tendency to leave those settings where I used them last and so are frequently incorrect the next time I take out my camera. Today was a picture postcard day and I took several coastline shots but it was only later I realised that the exposure compensation was set to supermarket interior. I rectified that in time for some marigolds with bougainvillea where I needed my centre of focus down on the ground and I hadn't returned that to it's right place by the time this sunset appeared round a bend in the road on my way home.
It had been another treasure-hunt day where documents had to be taken to Glossa Town Hall, photocopies taken, other documents taken to Skopelos Town Medical Centre for a couple of signatures and four rubber stamps, a letter taken to the bank where the teller had to activate a text message to be sent to my phone which she then interpreted because it was in Greek and also in code which had to be deciphered in order to discover the PIN of my new bank card which then needed to be put into the ATM to be activated but there we had a network failure so the excitement of using my new bank card has been postponed.
Finally it was the first meeting of the Glossa and District Arts and Crafts Club, the rules of which apparently were agreed at a meeting last November by a group of people who seem no longer to be involved. The question was did we want to establish the club formally along the lines set out last year or would we prefer something less formal. We agreed on something less formal. Then the fisherman's sister joined the meeting late and wanted to know why the Glossa and District Arts and Crafts Club fell under the umbrella of the Sporades Centre for Sustainable Development and not the Glossa Cultural Association. She was quite shouty about it and didn't want to leave enough time for translators to translate and so I got up and left.

I was rewarded by this sunset which made me realise that I have never, ever in my whole life taken a photograph of a sunset before. Isn't that astonishing! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.