horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Don't feel so Blue, Holly...

This Holly Blue butterfly might not look like much, but they're really not all that common in Scotland, these northern wastelands lying quite a bit away from they're usual breeding range. And there was one in our garden.

A day of relaxing(ish) in the garden (i.e. lots of work around the garden, but in nice weather, and a welcome break from London), and an enforced wander. Mel stretched out for a snooze, while I donned cycling shoes, loaded the camera in the bag, and grabbed keys to head out for some wildlife. Only the instant I pulled the door shut I realised I had the car keys and not the house keys, meaning I couldn't get the bike out of the garage, and with Mel asleep I didn't want to wake her, so I clumped to the car and took to Duddingston Loch instead (much like these doggy guys).

Foot of Swan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.