SueScape

By SueScape

Fennel

I killed off my fennel last year, not enough water, so this is only a young one at 6ft tall, outside my back door. All parts of the Fennel plant are useful - leaves, seeds and root. I love the leaves in salads, on fish, with cheese, the seeds in cooking and of course the bulbous root makes a great vegetable. And a leaf in a cup of hot water makes a refreshing tea.

Didn't know until I looked it up that fennel is one of the main ingredients in absinthe, which originated as a medicinal elixir in Switzerland, but is now more associated with France. An acquired taste which, my son assures me, leads rapidly to leglessness.

In folk lore, it's said that fennel helps to restore or strengthen eyesight, but it's most common use is for the relief of flatulence! I know a few people fennel could help - you know who you are:)


Above the lower plants it towers,
The Fennel with its yellow flowers;
And in an earlier age than ours
Was gifted with the wondrous powers
Lost vision to restore.

Longfellow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.