In Finland, many schools are to start tomorrow; universities and polytechnics a bit later. When it comes to me, it feels a bit strange but somehow pretty liberating that I don't have to go to any school this year - I skipped all the student places I could have taken (Uni x 3, polytechnic x 2, trade school x 1).

You know, they say it's really stupid to do so, because that's how you "ruin your future". Well, I think I have a lot of time to become an unemployed master of arts or something like that in this country in the coming years, and I don't currently even have the will to go back sitting in a dusty classroom or auditorium and listening to more or less woody lectures or lessons.

In some countries it is a question of honour and valuation to get a student place, I've heard. That actually makes me wonder about my motives, because here in Finland money doesn't talk when it comes to studying and it's up to you how you'll success in the entrance exams ...which are actually the only way to get a student place in a university or polytechnic.

After all, it doesn't feel like the right time to get back studying - not for me. Perhaps that time will come later, but right now I want to go working and improve and enhance myself on my own, for I'd later become rather sad if I decided to go with the flow today.

In the coming months I'll be concentrating on writing, perhaps on photography, and various tasks I've planned to clear. In January I'll leave to the service, as I might have explained earlier.

Still the very first move I'll do next and right now is to get me a nice cup of tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.