Goldcrest

Fabulous day here today...blue skies and no wind.  The garden was full of birdsong this morning so I spent most of it stalking birds with my camera.  Glimpsed the blackcap again, but was delighted to get some pictures of goldcrests.  There are quite a few of them about, but they do seem to fall prey to cats.  Checking in my Collins, goldcrests are the smallest European birds and weigh only 5g: makes me wonder how much food they can eat per day at that size, but they seem to spend most of their time upside down, nibbling something in trees.  They are very difficult to capture as they dart about like wrens...and being upside down a lot makes it tricky to show their gold crests, but I managed to get a few.  (Along with about 150 shots of leaves and empty branches...I could produce my own Where's Wally? book, working title Where's Goldie?).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.