Bookclub - Ideal!

Day spent tidying and  cleaning downstairs as colourful Mai was coming for dinner before book club. Found my new Co-op card that the assistantt had told me I should have received and my Road tax which should have been paid in September! I made a courgette tart out of 4 different varieties of courgette from my plot, and would have made courgette chutney too except it said store for 2 weeks before using! 
So - book club and that book I found offensive, distasteful, poorly conceived and executed! Another member found it more frustrating that the woman who selected the book didn't host the evening and didn't show up to explain why she had chosen it and what she thought of it - just as well as we all universally hated it! Luckily it hadn't put off the newest member to the group, although our inquisition of what she did, where she'd come from, why had she moved down here etc, etc might prevent her from coming again.Luckily as she has a young child she left before more wine was consumed by 3 of the group and two finally became the worse for wear and the other became increasingly incoherent! I just had the one Sol and Colourful Mai drank equally sensibly because  as she has got older her alcohol tolerance has got less - side effect of the menopause apparently! 
So our next book is to be A Man called Ove by Fredrik Backman, and since the new girl was up for hosting it as easier for her with her young child, I get to look round her house which is the old Post office opposite the pub -ideal! 
The blip is the back of the house where 3 of the group went for a cigarette - felt so odd to be amongst smokers now I am a vaper and have no need to smoke outside anymore - but it was a mild night and the frogs in the pond were making a nice noise and somewhere an owl was hooting - plus I got my blip - ideal again! Plus it is just up the road from me in the second lot of Victorian terraces ( apparently my terrace and this one should have been joined but the war came and money ran out! ) so under a minute to walk there and back - ideal once more!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.