Decision

I reached a decision today. I'm not going to apologise anymore when my blip is full of "katieballet" photos. I absolutely love that there are people who share in our journey and delight in her journal, and you all know who Katie is becoming. Ultimately it's about saving her life for her to look back on and what's been worth writing each day. Many (so many) days the highlights involve dance or music. Its getting more like that by the second. For the coming 4 months, her dancing is going to be an even bigger part of our lives, and therefore of our blips. And we are extremely excited. So here you have it.

Today's "dear diary" dance moment is that they've had their first panto rehearsal & started learning the fairy ballet. Katie was thrilled to be picked to model the new leo the panto cast are having for rehearsals. As seen here! And no, she's not wearing tights or socks. Despite handing her seven pairs of ballet tights this morning, she managed to not put a single pair in her bag.

We (I especially) are a bit tired of eventful journeys but this morning brought another. A vehicle decided to reverse backwards onto the path we were on (me on bike, Katie on scooter) without signalling or apparently looking. I spoke firmly to her, asking if she'd not seen us. She said "yes but I decided I would go anyway because you shouldn't be on the path". I lost it then and yelled at her- though I managed to limit that to tell her she was absolutely stupid, could she not see the six year old? At which point she laughed. Which made katie cry. It was her first year 2 day of wobbling at the classroom door. Not so much refusing to go in but more needing a really big lot of cuddles. Thankfully her TA already knows this isn't like Katie so gave her the space to do that and talked to me once she'd gone in.

It made me sad, in the expected ways, but also because til then we had been having a lovely morning and she'd done a fantastic job of some tricky sight reading on her big clarinet.

She wasn't quite herself when I picked her up and she said it had upset her when she'd told her class friend what happened and she'd just shrugged instead of being kind. Thankfully when she told her bestie, Lydia had given her a massive hug.

Katie was however pleased to remember that I had bought Chinese last night & that was her tea for tonight. Picnic car tea. Anyway, ballet fixed it all. I liked it as tonight I was fitting the new leotards so I got to see some of the class. It's her advanced class and she absolutely loves it. Seeing her work so hard at the barre was just gorgeous. She looked every bit at home with the girls 2, 3 and 4 years older than her. Happy baby ballerina. Who is now in band being a very happy little musician, albeit one who has asked mummy to not go running during band but instead sit there waiting so I am there at break time for her. Consequently I am sat in a waiting area full of insanely hyper kids chasing, shouting and being generally irritating!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.