Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie graduates!

Becky took Archie out this morning. And he got a good report - only one wee bark at another dog, and though it was a guide dog in training, it must have been good practise for the other dog.

We always ask the walkers how he's been, of course. We feel that he is getting much more sensible in many ways. He usually knows what 'NO!' means now, whereas before he pretended he didn't. He doesn't bark out the window so much, and if he does, he has the good grace to look guilty. He doesn't pick up every tissue and piece of rubbish on pavements. Though the poor postman will never be greeted quietly.

And so he graduated to being a 'quite sensible dog' today, borrowing the mortar board from Teddy. And he proved his maturity by not barking, or even harrumphing, at the men putting up scaffolding across the road. A month or so ago, I would have had to pull the blinds down to shield him from this aggravating behaviour.

We fly out tomorrow, though not till the afternoon, which is good. But in a way, it's not good, because you think you have plenty of time... and I have had to add in a visit to the hospital to see about my blood management leading up to the operation the following week. Hope they don't keep me waiting an hour and a half like last time!

I am doing my oven gloves knee exercise as we speak. Forthports was right - tins of beans don't cut the mustard. It has to be bottles of wine to give enough weight. In fact, not just any old bottles of wine, but heavy bottles of Moët, of which - and I'm not showing off (much) - we have two.

And I can tell you - it's murder. I need a Magnum.

An Almond Magnum!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.