briocarioca

By briocarioca

Bananquit

When I saw KevinV’s post a few days ago, here, I thought I had finally identified our visiting yellow breast as a Nuthatch, but I checked, and the beak’s a different shape, so I’m back to thinking it’s a Bananaquit. Either way, it’s lovely to see the pair of them visiting us to collect nesting material, eat food I’ve put out for them and try out our new, imported hummingbird feeder – except I don’t think they’ve quite worked it out yet, it’s too sophisticated for them. Let’s hope the humming birds can suss it out.
 
A holiday here – officially, the day of Our Lady of Aparecida, but generally thought of as Children’s Day It’s also the last day of Yom Kippur. Between the cat and HH tossing and turning, I didn’t get much sleep and got up unusually late, nearly 10 a.m. I’ve been on go-slow ever since (it’s becoming a habit). Still, working on turning-out in my office, just 98% of it still to go….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.