Jess

We took the short drive to the beach at Goyleston. I seem to be far too fastidious to enjoy beaches. I hate slapping on sticky sunblock, and I find sand more a source of annoyance than fun. Today, the beautiful fine sand was being blown by a strong wind. Seemingly onto anything edible, and into anything that would result in an expensive repair bill from Nikon. Of course, our kids loved covering themselves in the stuff, and discovering ways to spread their new playthings around. They also kept goading the waves into sweeping them out to the North Sea.

Fortunately, the choppy waves warranted having lifeguards out on the beach, keeping an eye out for swimmers with an even more misplaced trust in the benevolence of the waters than our kids. Jess was one of those lifeguards and we had a nice chat about her job and the weather conditions. She assured me the wind and waves were not going to get any worse, hence removing any excuse I had to evacuate my family to the safety of the nearest coffee shop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.