Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Nice!

Well, here we are in Nice. And it's been a day of two halves. No, three halves. Torrential rain, thunder and lightening just after we found a wee boulangerie for our breakfast. We were forced to stay and have seconds. Warm sunshine in the afternoon as we strolled along the waterfront and wandered in the old town. Then torrential rain again as we had the most delicious pizza (with anchovies). Fortunately, as we walked home again, the rain had eased.

The hotel is excellent (thank you TripAdvisor), handy for the airport bus, the Old Town, the waterfront, very clean and quiet with super comfy beds, and free wifi. Cheap, too.

I must say, French people talking loudly on the phone on a bus are not annoying at all - I love listening to the language. And, in all the restaurants/cafes we were in, or looked in, did not feel the need to play twangy screechy muzak!

You'd think, at my age, that I'd've mastered the art of sensible packing for a holiday. I knew we were going to have rain. Did I bring a spare pair of shoes? No. So I had to wear wet shoes, so wet socks, all afternoon, and now my toes are throbbing and do not want to be in shoes tomorrow...

We've had photos and updates of Archie's holidays, and he's probably snoozing on his sofa with Anne as we speak, not missing us at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.