Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Nice Day Two

Did I say the hotel was quiet? Well, it is, but the people outside aren't. We seem to be near a club entrance, though the yellers didn't actually go in. The rain last night must have kept them indoors. I asked to move rooms, and we have a lovely one (much bigger) looking out on the quiet hotel patio.

Not only did I not pack spare shoes (and had to buy a new pair) I forgot to bring my charger for my phone. I've been using it all day, not just for photos, but using the map app - that's been such a help getting around the place.

We popped out for our breakfast of coffee and pastries, but I really wouldn't want to have this every morning. I do like my porridge.

After I bought new shoes in a shop nearby, after having looked far and wide yesterday. Rather more expensive than I would have wanted, we strolled along to the nearby posh Hotel Negresco, but there was a notice at the door saying that riff-raff were not allowed in. But not quite in those words.

Then we dandered off into town via the waterfront. The sea was a beautiful blue, the sun was hot, but there are so many benches and seats all the way along.

We had a look round the market area again, and we were lured in to have lunch in an Italian cafe, where we could pick from lots of little tasty nibbles.

We saw two weddings, the first one was a beautiful black woman, I wasn't sure which of the gorgeously dressed men was the groom, but the wee lad in a white suit and the little bridesmaids were sooo photogenic.

Lots of armed soldiers and police around today. There was a ceremony to remember the dead from the atrocity on Bastille Day.

We then walked right round to the port. Quite far, for me, even without a sore knee and feet. The waterfront is glorious. I'd be tempted to even go in the water...

By the time we got to the port area, my feet and knees were quietly killing me, but we sat and had a coke and realised that we were on a main bus route. Checking on my phone, we figured out which one to get, and jumped on one to get back painlessly. €1.50 for any trip, I would have paid more. Much more.

Lots of news and photos from Archie today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.