briocarioca

By briocarioca

They're back!

Our clocks went forward an hour last night and while HH slept in late even by the old time. I was again drawn out of bed by the birdsong and spent a lovely hour or so bird spotting. Later, during breakfast on the verandah with HH, I noticed a hole in the termite nest a Trogon was investigating a couple of years ago. Then one of the unidentified shapes in the tree flew across - it was a female Trogon! She disappeared into the hole and we didn’t see her come out again, so hopefully she’s already sitting on some eggs. I’m so happy and excited (HH finds this a little puzzling)! Mrs Trogon is going in as the extra photo, as it was a quick shot from a distance, while the one above was a close -up
 
We eventually went along to the club and played just five holes, with the benefit of a cart lent by someone who had just finished. I was hitting the ball nicely but couldn’t wait to get back home, have lunch (at 5.30 new time) and get a short nap. I’m still tired and off to bed as soon as I’ve posted this.
 
On the fifth hole, my ball landed near a nesting Lapwing. The family rallied round to protect her, but she stayed crouched over her egg, even when I stopped for the picture. I fear for her safety and can’t see how she or the egg will survive. She was surrounded by balls that had overshot the practice ground,and on the edge of the fairway where plenty of other shots are likely to land. Sad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.