GlassReflections

By MomsWords

Flowers for Nicci

Nicci, my sister-in-law, celebrated her 38th birthday on the 7th August. Being single and not yet a mom, my 3 children are very special to her and vice versa.

I have known Nicci since she was 10 and I was 14. It seems like yesterday but also a lifetime ago. We met when I started dating her brother. Being the only girl in her family I soon became a big sister to her. We always shared a close relationship and have always been comfortable in each other's company.

Nicci was always with us when we went out or on holidays. She was our little sister and we looked after her. When we got married she was my only bridesmaid.

In her early twenties she had a serious relationship for several years with a guy who feared committment. When they finally broke-up she was older and all the single guys were already taken. She went to all her friends weddings and watched them become mothers but Mr Right just never showed up. Nicci has never been bitter about this but instead has lived a full life. She studied psychology, started working, moved into a cottage of her own and just enjoyed her independence.

Mr Right is still out there and I know she is still young enough to have a family and live her happily ever after dream. I just wish it would happen soon because she is a beautiful, special person who deserves to have it all. I am being a bit selfish too because I would love to have some nephews or nieces and some cousins for my children!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.