stuartjross

By stuartjross

Garrogie

Plenty of fresh air today, and rain, and thunder.

This is the slopes to the west of Garrogie an area we worked at earlier in the year but the scope for this remaining part of the exercise only got finalised recently.

The morning kidded me on and allowed me to walk unjacketed about 1km from the car and then it started raining, (I worked on) light at first then heavier and heavier. Thankfully I had spare everything in the car and I resumed fully kitted for the weather and climbed to the top of the site and worked generally downhill gravity assisted.

In the early afternoon the rain was accompanied with deafening roars of thunder, the original loud bang came, though we didn't get a flash, then there was a rumbling which seemed to echo through the mountains for another 30 seconds. It was so prolonged I wonderd if it was a low flying military jet at one stage.

The black lumps in the foreground are chunks of peat excavated from an area of workings in front of the camera

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.