Mushroon Hotel

Today didn't start well with a power cut. Resetting the fuse boxes didn't work, nor did pulling the plugs in every room. Checking front and back I saw the house opposite me had lights on and the street lights were on - just me then! Since it was the Women Who Walk and far too early to phone the electrician who lives up the road, I decided to go to Nellies and have a coffee and charge my phone! Just had to hope the fish and Gunther survived without oxygenation and heat respectively! I knew I wouldn't make it without a coffee! Just as I was  about to leave the house the power came on - I plugged in my phone and switched on George Clooney - power went off, and on, and off, and on, and off and finally on! Good job I hadn't switched the fish tank light on or they would have been well traumatised! 
I had time to down my espresso and then down to the village to meet Nellie of the Woods, ex-teacher and the Angel for a glorious walk through the woods and chat at Nellies over peppermint tea and cake before walking back. To my delight there were mushrooms  where the tree fell last year - even better than when they used to grow around the tree! 
Later in the afternoon The Gardener came down for a chat - she had been staying with Friend whilst her daughter visited her sister in Bristol. Seems like we had both been feeling we had done something wrong as neither of us had seen Friend for weeks.  We have been chatting as always on Facebook but after cancelling my attendance at the meal a couple of weeks ago and avoiding seeing her because of my cold,  arrangements made since  for taking her on  a walk  or going up for  tea and a chat she had consistently called off. I had wondered if she was just wanting to be with her daughters and so didn't pop round as felt this would be intrusive. Since Friend would be alone till tomorrow I contacted her to see if she wanted company - another thank you but no thank you. I will see what she says tomorrow. The Gardener and I fear things have moved on another stage and I fear I may not see her again.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.