25 years ago

I had to relegate my gym t-shirts to the ragbag and found this one, in the drawer, still unworn. I must have felt very proud of myself to keep it. It was was my one and only triathlon. I came in third female veteran. There were only 3 women competing - and yes, even 25 years ago I was apparently a veteran.

I did it for the challenge and to raise money for McMillan cancer charity. I had no idea it was such a serious business. One of the women asked me what my splits were. I hadn't a clue what she was on about. I found out after the first stage. While she leapt from the pool in her fancy gear and was onto her bike, I was changing and still drying my hair.

After the cycling I was required to lift my bike up onto a high hanging contraption. I failed at the first two attempts and was told by the steward that if I couldn't do it on my third go, it meant I wouldn't be allowed to continue to do the run. The thought of the derisive laughter that would great me from my Year 11 students who had sponsored me was enough to enable me to hang it up. I should have taken off my bike basket.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.