Roly's Life

By Roly

Nemesis

As I drove to work this morning (another teaching day) I passed a Wrings with a W lorry. In the sad lorry spotting 'thing' we do, Wrings with a W is a rare spot and has become my nemesis. My excitement was so great I had to phone MrRoly and tell him! Obviously today was destined to be a good day!

Teaching was fab - another lovely group I'm going to enjoy working with. My supervisor (I have to be supervised until my DBS comes through) commented how she liked my manner with the class, it's always good to receive a compliment. I enjoy it though (the teaching) so perhaps that shows?

I called in in Mike on my way home to admire his new doors, steal a PC disc and drop off a College coconut flapjack - it was our college routine to have a coffee and a flapjack mid morning so I had to get him one!

I then managed to squeeze in a cheeky with ClareClare in between collecting Smallest and Princess. Then a muckies with 3/4 children (The Boy had taken himself off to play XBox at his friend's after science club) before taking Eldest to the climbing wall.

So to see a second Wrings with a W in the same day (or possibly the same one) parked up on an industrial estate in Penryn goes to show that this morning's omen for a good day has indeed been realised!

The Rules
There is a list of lorry's to spot, all with fairly rubbish reasons why they have been added, but in our defence, it's a bloody long way to go to reach civilisation!
Here it is:
Conway Bailey Transport - the first to be added and it turns out very relevant to a blip friend I have made! They are common as muck on the A30/M5 so are counted. MrRoly holds the record for number spotted in one trip. They are probably our favourite.
Redruth Transport - sister company of CBT.
Sparks - a Glastonbury based firm with what I think is a beautiful livery. If you can find their Scania Calender photo you might see why.
Downton - have to be sung to with Petula Clark's 'Downtown'. Years ago I worked with a customer called Downton, no idea if it's the same company but they were lovely. In addition, their depot is by MrRoly's old work place so they too tend to be counted.
Eddie Stobart - they have to be included really but 'interestingly' are pretty rare in this part of the world!
Norbert Dentressengle - love a Norbert spot, they took over Christian Salvesen (there are links to the fishing fleet) who were once on the list but now appear to be rebranding/taken over and are XPO(?) so becoming harder and harder to find.
Turners of Soham - does a Browns with the same livery count? No idea why they made the list but they did!
Malcolm - a late addition added only because Princess has a friend called Malcolm!
Westfield - a local firm from Truro. Only added because they have a light up 'W' on the front of their cabs so are easy to spot in the dark!
Wrings with a W - MrRoly went to school with one of the Wrings so they had to join the list! Unfortunately they are like hens teeth usually!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.