Hand in marriage

We finally made it to the Watts Gallery and Chapel today, having lived just down the road from it for many years, and it was great! Ended up spending the whole afternoon there and even managed to fit a cream tea in. This is a cast of G F & Mary Watts' clasped hands, taken on their wedding day, which I rather liked.

Mr DawnAgain ended up having an in-depth chat with one of the gallery volunteers and then the curator about how some (I'd say a couple) of the paintings on display were sub-standard. I sidled off when I saw it about to happen and left him to it. Personally, I like to see the range of an artist's work rather than just the 'greatest hits' as it's a more honest representation. One thing the curator said to Mr DA, which I'd already commented on, was that G F Watts was a very good-looking gentleman in his youth - if his self-portraits are to be believed (as Mr DA said to the curator).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.